Skip to content

Takarazuka

June 1, 2010

Is it wrong that whenever someone mentions God and Death I think of Takarazuka actresses before anything else? Now, don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I pray to Takarazuka actresses. XD Even I think that would be taking fandom and geekiness a bit too far. No, what I mean is the images of them, how I imagine and wish they look.

In other words, God looks like Ebira Kaoru did in Ribbon no Kishi. Death looks like Sena Jun did in Elisabeth.

Then you can go on about how I’m not religiously correct or whatever, and see if I care. Chill, people.

Anyway, back to Takarazuka. I finally watched Elisabeth. I’m not gonna deny that Death was the hottest thing ever, and that *he made me drool. Several times. Over her/his clothes as well. (I drooled over most of the clothes in the musical, mind you. But mostly Death’s. Which is saying something, since it was mostly trousers.) I’m not gonna deny that I several times thought things along the lines of “if that is what Hell looks like, I wouldn’t really mind ending up there” or “so that’s why Hell is so hot?” You know, cheesy, fangirly stuff like that that doesn’t really make sense.

But what I wanna say is, that it wasn’t all that that made Sisi defy gravity and soar high up there and join Elphaba as an absolute dream role of mine. (I mean, it’s not like I’ll ever get to play against Sena Jun. I don’t think I’d manage. xD) That was all just thanks to the story, the emotion, the sheer brilliance of it all. Makes it better than Phantom of the Opera, any day. I don’t see Christine up there with Elphaba.

It’s slightly weird for me, to fall in love so completely. I never thought I’d find another role I’d love so much as I Elphie. And now here she is.

Elphie and Sisi. They’re so different, too. ^^’ I like it.

Though I wonder something when it comes to Takarazuka, and I probably shouldn’t. ^^’

Are all Western fans of them rich and awesome at Japanese, or do they all simply move to Japan (hard to believe, that last one)? I mean, buying a Takarazuka DVD from Japan is not cheap. Yet they all seem to know about all the musicals, and have seen lots of them. But there’s not one single fandub out there that I can find. Except for the ones Morning Musume is in. And with all the anime and manga and other musicals (like SeraMyu, TeniMyu…) being fansubbed, I think it’s a bit weird. And I’m jealous.

I crave more Takarazuka.

Preferably with Sena Jun.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 9:41 pm

    Oh! Sena Jun was one hell of a HOT freaking sexy death *drooling*
    though not my fav one! Having seen All 7 of them [thanks to you tube] I prefer Sena in the role of Elisabeth the most, she is actually my second best Elisabeth after the unspeakable unbelievably incredible Hanafusa Mari, who played Elisabeth in 2 productions (1996,1998)
    My favorite Production by far is the one of 1998 with Shizuki Asato as Death, Hanafusa Mari as Elisabeth, Wao Youka as Franz Joseph, Kozuki Wataru as Luigi Lucheni, and Asami Hikaru as Rudolph.
    On the Fandom,
    Taka-fans do a lot of saving to purchase the DVDs, A lot of the fans learn Japanese(myself included), some of us have gone or are about to go to Japan (I’m going in August, I’ll watch Star troupe’s Romeo & Juliette).
    Fandubs is something that would destroy the whole feeling of a play, since you go to listen to their voices singing and acting.
    Fansubs on the other hand are very and I mean VERY limited. Takarazuka fandom is not like the regular anime/manga/drama fandom with fansubbers and DVD rips and sharing though internet, such thing never existed and will never start happening.
    There is a whole philosophy of respect on the company and the actresses, that makes us very strict on the sharing thing.
    A production like a Elisabeth and ALL Grand Theater productions cost around 1 million Euros each, these money are spend on the costumes and set, and maybe on the Top star’s salary which is low, the younger actresses do not even get paid until they reach a level of mastering (like 7 years ), the fans of these girls sometimes pay for the rent for the actresses’ apartments. That’s why we have learned to respect their work way more than other media and do not spread it illegally. They certainly do not live a life of a super Idol, with glamour and wealth.
    more info on Takarazuka Kagekidan you can find in TakaWiki 🙂
    Sena Jun this year is going to be Elisabeth in a regular theater, along with Asami Hikaru, and with 3 male deaths [one of them had been a Tuxedo Kamen in SeraMyu, in Marina’s years]

  2. June 7, 2010 10:21 pm

    I’ve watched Sena Jun in different roles in Elisabeth on Youtube as well, but I have to say that my favourite is when she played Death. She’s so brilliant and hot. I mean, she always is, but there’s just something with that blonde wig and that look she has that makes me fall head over heels.

    And thank you for explaining all that to me! I’m not very into Takarazuka yet, and I have just recently started getting into it properly, though I’ve been knowing about it for some years now. I’m finding the fans’ respect to be really touching, especially as an amateur actress myself. 🙂 I’ve been teaching myself Japanese for some time now due to interest in Japan’s culture in general, and I’m trying to see if I’ll be able to put aside some money to buy some Takarazuka DVDs. 😀
    And I find the thought of a fandubbed musicals horrible, to be honest. It would completely destroy the magic. I think dubbing in any way does that, no matter what type of media it is.

    On another note, I was really happy to see another Haruka and Michiru lover on my blog! 😀

    • June 7, 2010 10:41 pm

      I liked Asako’s (Sena Jun) Elisabeth role as my fav of hers in an Elisabeth production.
      I find her death really beautiful but too soft for my taste [I’m fav is Zunko(Shizuki Asato) for crying out loud the most vicious f them all, If you go on youtube “Yami ga hirogaru (sora)” you’ll see what I mean (and she wears leathers too *drools*)]
      Asako’s Lucheni was good but the only Lucheni for me is Kiriya Hiromu (Kiriyan) from 2005 production.

      I’m glad you are finding Dubs horrible. I find dubs as the worst kind or butchering lol(look what they did to Sailor Moon).

      and Haruka is totally my first Otokoyaku crush!!!

      • June 8, 2010 12:51 am

        Hm, I see what you mean about her being vicious. She really is. 8D But I still like Sena Jun’s Death the best, because *he gives me the impression of being sort of like a snake waiting to strike. That softness that you talk about, it’s just to give people a false sense of security, and then *he strikes. Sorry for over-analysing. XD That’s just how I feel. ^^

        Haha, yes, the Sailor Moon dub. XD The only thing I like about it is that it introduced me to the show, but it can never compare to the original. It’s not even the same show in the dub.

        I love Haruka too! She’s very beautiful. I had a look at your blog, and I like how you see her. I agree with what you wrote about her. 🙂

        • June 8, 2010 6:03 am

          Oh yeah absolutely know what you mean about being sneaky like a snake 😀
          behehehe
          and Asako is an amazing actress/singer/dancer, her Rudolph was quite tall for her though ;P I’m surprised how the managed the bridge since Sena was kind of blind there with the Rudolph THAT tall. *brrr*(the silver bridge is pretty scary, younger actresses have fallen in the orchestra hole…)
          At the moment I’m so fond of Yuzuki Reon(Chie) ❤
          I'm going to see her as Romeo in August *nose bleed* along with Ouki Kaneme (fifth member of AQUA5) If I'm lucky I'll might have a ticker for the first rows which means Chie will notice me…*fangirling here* and being a foreigner, with strange spike hair, it will be easy and she will wink at me, and I'll totally die then and there, and , and … *breathes heavily* okay lets calm down a bit, I'm fangirling way to much 😛
          but Chie is absolutely HOT, and sexy, and funny and those cheekbones ❤ and that ASS GAHHHH
          okay okay, I'll get a hold of myself. *smacks head on the desk "you scare people you dumb ass"*

          *grins goofily* 😀
          I didn't scare ya, did I?? 😀

          • June 8, 2010 2:36 pm

            Yeah, the bridge looks really scary! I have a small fear of falling off stages, so I kept holding my breath during that scene, not only because Sena was so hot, but because I was afraid she would fall. XD I think it’s because I nearly fell of this boat we had on stage once in a play I was in.

            I’m so jealous of you! You don’t think I might fit in your trunk, or something…? *kidding* Haha, I hope you have a great time… I don’t see how you couldn’t, with all those gorgeous actresses to look at. 8D

            Haha, no, you didn’t scare me. I’m used to fangirling, I do it way too much myself. XD

  3. June 8, 2010 10:53 pm

    Oh hey 😀
    It took me a long time to reply you!
    Bridge is indeed scare! there is a video of Sena Jun, who is falling on purpose off the stage (still quite scary) I have posted on my blog so you can see it, also another vid of Sena looking exactly like Haruka O.O

    I’m so glad that I’ll do this trip to Japan, and be able to watch Chie-Romeo and Nene-Juliette and most importantly Kaname-Tibelt ❤
    Chie and Kaname-chan are going to notice me and I'll die there ❤ and I'll be a ghost a very happy ghost in the theater helping the actresses changing outfits between the scenes [more like a perverted little ghost :P]

    lol
    sorry I'm fangirling again!!!
    I'm might manage to watch Oozora Yuuhi's play too ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

    • June 9, 2010 12:38 am

      Wow, I love all those videos you posted! I’ve subscribed to your blog now. XD I’m such a stalker. xD
      She does look like Haruka in that video! So gorgeous! Though for me, Takagi Nao from SeraMyu will always be my Haruka. 😀

      Mwahaha, if you become a ghost you have to sneak a ghosty little camera with you and share those beautiful things you will see… ❤ ;P

      You're so lucky. XD

  4. June 9, 2010 6:34 am

    thanks for subscribing, you are my FIRST !!! (that sounds really strange¬_¬;)
    I based a story of mine in this video(I’m still writing) and Haruka is a Takarazuka actress in that 😀
    Talking about the gorgeous Takagi Nako ❤ (Oh those legs :nose bleed) she had her second child a month ago ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ a baby girl!!!

    and YES I'll sneak in my little shostly camera for sure :moving eyebrows:

    • June 9, 2010 1:34 pm

      Haha, that does sound strange. XD In a good way, though. ^^’
      I read about that story on your FF.net account! (Stalker, much? XD) I’d really like to read it once you’re done! 😀
      Yes, Takagi Nao. ❤ I'm so happy for her! ^_^ Though my favourite SeraMyu actress will always be Ono Hikari. <3<3<3 She and Yoshizawa Hitomi (former Morning Musume member) must be two of the hottest women out there. *drools*

      Bwahaha, awesome. 😉

  5. June 9, 2010 4:05 pm

    Oh Hii-chan is the greatest!!!
    I love her Taiki, loof Mellow, Vampiru, Hawks eye AND Demando!!! [basically all her roles in myu]
    as for the hottest women… I have some in mind *drooooooools*

    I think Asami Hikaru from Zuka is one amazingly beautiful woman ❤

    • June 9, 2010 5:05 pm

      My favourite role of hers is definitely Vampiru! ❤ Though I drool over them all… especially Demand. XD
      Haha, yeah, there's so many hot women out there. ❤ XD

      You're right! She IS hot! 8D

  6. June 9, 2010 5:27 pm

    Demando was her best in my opinion but Vampiru is definitely my fav as well!

    Asami Hikaru also DO NOT AGE at all… O.O I don’t know how she does that but she still looks like she is 20!

    in few minutes I’ll post a new entry will some very hot Zuka videos that make me drool…a lot!
    few of the sexiest scenes 😀

    • June 10, 2010 1:17 am

      I think some Japanese women simply STOP ageing at twenty. XD Some even younger than that. I see no other explanation for it. XD

      I saw it! … And I commented! x) So sexy, all of it. Yum. 8D

Leave a Reply

