Skip to content

Generation V Pokémon

June 29, 2010

I’ve been wanting to do this for a while now. Write about these new darlings popping up all over the place right now. So I will. Here goes. ^^

Tsutarja (ツタージャ), Pokabu (ポカブ) and Mijumaru (ミジュマル), ze starters.

My reaction to Tsutarja and Mijumaru are nothing but “meh”. Don’t like the design, and Mijumaru’s cuteness does nothing for me, even though I’m usually weak to Water Pokémon in general. ^^’

Pokabu, on the other hand… Let’s see, we have an orange (= Ongaku Gatas = Yossy = !!! ♥), adorable pig who can breathe fire. Yeah… pretty much WIN. I absolutely love it. Pokabu is my starter, that’s for sure. Can’t wait to see the evolutions. (For all three starters, but mostly Pokabu. ^^)

Chiramii (チラーミィ)

OMG. Have you ever seen anything cuter? Why are so many Normal types just so darn adorable? I want one. I want it to brush me with its tail, become my best friend, and then we’ll live happily ever after. Oh, and defeat the Pokémon League too.

Giaru (ギアル)

Eh. ^^’ Makes me think of Magneton, which is in no way a good thing. I really dislike the Magnemite family. And it’s a Steel type too. The only steel type I like are Skarmory, Mawile, Dialga and my beloved Lucario. Registeel terrifies me. And well, this one is ugly. So it doesn’t look good for this Giaru. Though I’m curious what they’ll name it in English. “Gear”-something would be kinda funny. XD

Hihidaruma (ヒヒダルマ)

Wow. o.o Speaking of Pokémon that scares me… ^^’

No, I don’t like this one either, even though it’s pretty brilliant in a weird, slightly scary way. XD The eyebrows cracks me up, and if you only look at the face that’s kinda awesome too. And Fire Pokémon are always hot. (Pun fully intended. ^_^) The rest, well… I don’t know. I don’t think I’d want it on my team, really. I’m too much about looks. Shame on me. x)

Mamepato (マメパト)

Mwiiip! It’s Pidgey 0.4! (Taillow = 0.2, Starly = 0.3.) And I love it, just like I do with the others. My lovely birdies. I swear I’m a Flying Pokémon trainer at heart, even though I love many other types as well. But Pokémon that can fly are just an instant win with me, and I don’t really know why. And Lucario and the Eeveelutions are all special cases, though I’m still hoping for that Flying type Eeveelution to come along soon. Generation V, pretty please? ^^

But yeah, back to Mamepato. The name makes me giggle. I wish they wouldn’t change it, though hopefully I’ll like the English name too. ^^ But it’s so cute, it makes me squeal. ^_^ Learn Wing Attack, and then we’ll beat the crap out of everyone that comes in our way! My little pidgeon. ♥ Go, Mamepato! ;P

Meguroko (メグロコ)

This one cracks me up almost as much as Magmar does. XD Although Magmar isn’t cute.

Yeah, this is probably going to be a good example of one of those Pokémon I find adorable even though it really aren’t supposed to be. x) I have weird taste, but I’m glad I have, or I’d just end up with a bunch of cuties on my team, and I have an irrational dislike for girls that only have Wigglytuff, Ninetales, Vaporeon, Azumarill, Delcatty and Altaria on their team. Not like those Pokémon aren’t awesome or anything, but you know. I find it stereotypical and it just annoys me. But each to their own, right?

Ehm, Meguroko, marry me. You look like you’re off to prison, but wouldn’t you like being on my team instead? Much more fun, no? We could join Team Rock… Ehm, I mean, we could be a little criminal now and then. ^^’ Accomplices, yes? And be awesome. You’ll have no problems with that. ^_^

Munna (ムンナ)

Eh… Is this what happens when Sugimori Ken runs out of ideas, then? ^^’ Not to be rude or anything, because Ken is a genius no matter how you look at it, but this blob of pink isn’t even cute. Eh, at least I don’t think so. XD Is it my weird taste again? ^^’

So here we have a Psychic type that has nothing in the looks department. I’m not a fan of Psychic types, really. Unless it’s Espeon or a legendary (Mewtwo and Mew, OMG <333), those are always cool. ^^ Apart from Celebi, it sucks. >_>

Yeah, doesn’t look good for Munna. Doesn’t like the name either, will the English one be any better?

Shimama (シママ)

And electric zebra? Someone should seriously have a price for this one. It’s absolutely brilliant, the design makes me bounce with delight, and it’s darn good-looking. Tell me this awesome horse learns Thunder, then put Ash’s Pikachu on it’s back in an knight’s armour and with a sword, and… Okay, I have no idea where I’m going with this. But someone draw that for me, please. XD

Shimama, be on my team. I wish you could ride Pokémon. You know, sort of like the running shoes, but instead you sit up on your Pokémon and away we go! And the speeds would be different depending on the Pokémon, like on a Rapidash it would be uber-fast like those insane bicycles, and with a… I dunno, Meganium, maybe, it would go a bit slower. ^^ Awesome sauce, yes? ^_^

Reshiram (レシラム) and Zekrom (ゼクロム)

The legendaries. These two are works of art, damn it. How Reshiram can pull off looking like an overgrown hen as well as getting away with that thing between its legs and still be epic is beyond me, but there you go. As for Zekrom, it does kinda resemble Mewtwo a bit in body shape, doesn’t it? Just bigger and not feline. It’s very pretty, of course. And Dragon/Fire and Dragon/Electric? Yep, that’ win-win. Can’t wait to get to see these two in action, whether it’s in a movie or in the games. But considering how the latest movie made me love Arceus, whom I didn’t like at all before it… I’ll be drooling over these two in a movie. Movie 14, maybe? Unless that one will have Mewtwo, since we’re going back to the legendary beasts for movie 13, maybe we’ll continue going backwards… I wouldn’t mind that. *_* At all. 8D

As for which one of these two I like, and as for which game I will be buying… As difficult a choice as it is, probably Pokémon Black. That is, the one with Reshiram. Yeah, I still find it weird how they switched the colours like that, putting the white Pokémon on the Black game. But I have a weak spot for Pokémon that looks more animal-ish. And look at Reshiram’s stare! I wouldn’t wanna look into it’s eyes unless it was in my team. XD

But I do wonder what function these two will have. I mean, you can’t have anything more awesome than Arceus, right? It’s the God of the Pokémon universe, more or less. That’s why so many thought there wouldn’t be another Generation after IV. But now it’s here, and here are these two. Legendaries, epic-looking and awesome. Will they beat Arceus? I kinda hope not.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

